80togo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Vegan Style December 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Selfish Mitch @ 12:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

I realize now that I should have taken a picture of my salad BEFORE I ate half of it.  Whatever.  It was still great.  It was fresh spinach, cucumbers, celery, carrots, hearts of palm, tomatoes, black olives, and lentils that were slow cooked in water and vegetable broth with some garlic and onions.  Fantastic.

I’ve made a pretty big change over the past month and a half or so.  I’ve been pescetarian for the past year and a half, but only ate seafood maybe once or twice a month.  The goal was always to become vegan, but I made a lot of excuses.  “I really like cheese.”  “My job keeps me on the road alot and I have to eat out, and there aren’t many choices.”  “I don’t want to give up butter”.  Blah, blah, blah.

Finally, I made the decision to commit to being vegan for 2 weeks and see how it went.  I know that there are a ton of health, environmental, and ethical reasons to be vegan, and I decided to go there.  My goal became a commitment, and it stuck.  After two weeks, I felt better than I have in a long time.  I’m requiring less sleep, and I find that I have more energy than I have in the past.  It’ pretty amazing.  I decided to stick with it, and I’m happy to report that it’s a lot easier than I ever thought it would be.  Once the decision is made, it’s easy.

It’s helped me with weight loss, and I seriously feel stronger.  I’m happy to report that I’m now down 30 lbs from my all time high, which was earlier this year.  As long as I don’t get injured, I see no reason why I can’t knock off the 60 lbs I need to to hit my goal.  I’m excited and more committed than ever.  Get out of my way.  😉

 

Leave a comment